Happy 74th, Mom!

Thanks to my brother James, I did not fail to remember that today would have been my mother’s 74th birthday.

It was 10 years ago on 1 November that she passed away. Seems like yesterday…

My mother circa 1967 before she had me!

My mother circa 1967 before she had me!

My mother was a real babe. She was tiny (4’10”) but had perfect proportions: lovely breasts, a tiny waist and shapely legs. My Dad admitted to me that he fell hard for her the first time he saw her in nursing school.

Sometimes I wonder what she looks like now in Heaven. I tend to think she’s back to her babe self as pictured here. I don’t even think she looks mumsy now, like in this photo taken in 1971 when my baby brother was born.

Mom looking pleased as pie with James while I hug my Panda and ignore him.

Mom looking pleased as pie with James while I hug my Panda and ignore him.

Once in a while my kids would ask me what we’ll look like when we get to Heaven. I would reply, well, the Bible says we’ll get new bodies and there’s no pain or suffering anymore.

So I believe Mom has her new and fully wonderful body, with no scars. And best of all, she can never feel pain again.

I’m looking forward to that day for myself too.

Happy birthday Mom. Still looking up to you and discovering how much truth your words hold. (Especially “Wait till you get a daughter of your own.”)

Leave a Reply

