The Prettiest Pink Ribbon Necklace Ever! Get One!

Buy this pretty necklace and wear your support for breast cancer warriors!

My friend Rosalind Ng is a breast cancer warrior who battled this terrible disease in her 20s. I knew her when she worked for the fashion brand M)Phosis. I knew she loved motorbikes and racing, and was just so full of life. To hear that she had cancer at such a young age was a shock to me.

When I was editor for Vanilla magazine, I asked Ros if she would be our cover girl and share her story. I remember the stylist Fongfan and art director Jennifer having such a great time with her — photographer Joel Low captured the very free spirit that Ros was.

This was the photo that made my heart melt — Ros with her hubby Yu Seung, a photographer.
Ros and Yu Seung in love.

Ros was one of the first people I called when I discovered my own cancer this year. She was the first visitor I took at home, and her presence gave me tremendous comfort. It’s such a blessing to be able to tell someone how you felt having to lose a breast, and know that she knows exactly what you are talking about. She told me about her own experience — having to go back a year after her mastectomy and have a balloon inserted to stretch her skin to fit the silicon. I remember looking at her in her skimpy tank top and thinking, “Thank God! There is hope for me!” You really couldn’t tell that she had had surgery at all!

Ros went back to her active lifestyle soon after her operation. She is in the Breast Cancer Foundation dragonboating team (and yes I am on her “target” list – I do like kayaking…). She is also a staff member of Via Ferrata, the rock wall at Orchard Central. Two years ago, she and Yu Seung drove through the Sahara on their bikes to raise funds for African children.

There is a softer side to her, though. Ros also has a thriving handmade jewelry business on Etsy.com and also on her blogsite Asian Art Jewels. She makes the loveliest earrings and pendants and charms with semi-precious stones.

To commemorate Breast Cancer Month she’s created this beautiful forged sterling silver necklace with a ribbon pendant, which features a pink Swarovski crystal bead.

This necklace retails for SGD36 (or US26) and SGD7 from every necklace sold goes to BCF.

Buy one now for someone you love and one for yourself! And help us spread the word.

You can buy your Pink Ribbon Necklace via Ros’ blogsite or through Etsy.com here.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PC
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 01:40:13

    Hi Elaine,

    Good to hear about the younger cancer-survivors and that some are doing well. I’ve been in hospitals in the US and in Singapore and rarely do I come across someone in the early twenties and thirties, not unless I seek them out on PlanetCancer. Rosalind seems to have recovered very well. Less angsty and pensive.

    Doctors asked that I wait 3 years before reconstruction as my cancer type recurrence rate is very high and they don’t want to “waste the time, effort and tissue” . 4 years later, I have no recurrence but I still have not gone for the reconstruction because the balloon will be inserted above the breast, near the collar bone, and I have yet to find a stable job that I love and where the people would accept someone walking around with a balloon near the collar bone for the better part of a year as part of a series of consecutive tissue expansions.

    Obviously, I plan for a good job, a reconstruction and then a measure of the life I used to lead before. Normal clothes (and not everything all buttoned up, and oh, the right to wear spaghetti tops and show off the smooth shoulders ), swimming (which I have done since I was a child) and more strenuous activities like adventure hiking (hey, I used to be on the varsity dragonboat team and a competitive athlete – am not likely to ever row again because of where the wound is situated). Now, I still have a scar the size of my palm and constant reminders not to over-exert in case I tear the scar and get an infection as had happened when I went travelling with wheeled luggage and not backpack soon after I got out of hospital. Had sent a friend scurrying in a foreign city to look for non-stick bandages to sop up the leaky wound and grossed out everyone when I tried to half lie in bed to apply the antiseptic cream with a mirror in the other hand.

    Reply

    • threezframe
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 01:55:51

      Hi PC my name is Theresa, not Elaine 🙂

      Very sorry to hear what you had to go through – I understand the frustration of not looking or dressing as you want. Have you sought a second opinion about your reconstruction options? You might want to… as you mention you have a palm-sized scar. My plastic surgeon has been a real blessing to me – I have to say he has helped me regain a lot of my confidence as I see my scars fading week by week. There are definitely aesthetic options for cancer cases (and if I am not wrong, quite a few are claimable via Medisave).

      I think for many Singaporean women who are used to very active lifestyles, “taking it easy” is like a death sentence. I literally had to force myself many times NOT to pick up that bag, NOT to carry my toddler… for fear that I’m going to cause internal bleeding in my wound. Even now, three and a half months after surgery, disobeying those simple rules can cause serious repercussions that will leave me in bed for days. I still can’t even sit in one position for longer than 2 hours.

      I wish you all the best. I hope you get all you wish for – a great job, reconstruction and the lifestyle you used to have. I hope you find the people who help you to find answers, instead of objections.

      Reply

      • PC
        Oct 12, 2010 @ 07:25:44

        Hi Theresa

        Thank you for the very kind replies and very sorry about mixing up your name. =)

        At the same time, can I ask that you do not address me by my first name online? I’m a bit ambivalent about letting everyone know that I am a cancer survivor. It’s not something I set out to hide, but there are at least a few issues. Stress for myself, my acquaintances and also the impression it gives in a jobsearch. And it is for the last reason that I am choosing not to undergo reconstruction for the time-being. And to address your question, I had advice from 3 separate set of plastic surgeons – and consecutive tissue expansion is really the best option.

        Lastly, was wondering whether you have addressed the fears of the younger and less established cancer patients. I know that a lot of the older patients interviewed in the press are mostly senior enough and established enough to handle financial or career issues or have families to look after them. But what about the younger ones? I met with a 20+ year old recurrent cancer patient at the NCC, and was struck by her story of how her firm wanted to fire her upon learning about her diagnosis. As for myself, if I was not in such a bad mood, I would laugh at the reactions of the professional career counsellors when I first told them about how I was looking to re-enter the workforce post-cancer, and the abruptly terminated job interview processes I faced down in the past.

      • threezframe
        Oct 12, 2010 @ 07:40:15

        Hi PC – have edited my previous reply 🙂

        I’m horrified to hear about the hiring bias. You are right in that, I am thankful I am facing cancer in my 40s — I had my career years and was working part time when this happened, and now I have some freedom to spend time with my children. All of this, I am thankful for.

        Ros was really the only 20something I knew who had had cancer — apart from this other girl Molly Lee, who had terminal ovarian cancer when I met her. She was a gifted graphic designer, but also had the option to work from home. But she could not work for long after she underwent treatment.

        I think it would really be beneficial for you to contact BCF and join their support group. They have one for Young Women. However, due to their Breast Cancer Month activities they aren’t holding meetings Oct and Nov — otherwise, their support groups meet on the 2nd Saturday of every month. Details for Breast Cancer Foundation:

        Address: 26 Dunearn Road, Singapore 309423

        Office Telephone Number: (65) 6352 6560

        Helpline: (65) 6356 0123

        Fax Number: (65) 6352 5808

        E-Mail: enquiries@bcf.org.sg

        Maybe let me take our conversation offline re job searching. I’ll see how I can help, okay?

  2. Elvin
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 03:07:22

    That IS a pretty necklace! I’ll want to get that for a gal friend’s birthday! (Actually would be even better if I could buy her a mammogram.. but is that weird? :p And how much does a mammogram cost? I’ve been seriously thinking of buying a good friend one! – ie. the best birthday gift i could give a friend – a desire to continue celebrating her for many more birthdays to come!)

    Reply

    • threezframe
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 03:12:33

      Hi Elvin, you’re so funny… and sweet! But but but, your friend has to agree to getting the mammo done! It’s quite painful, to be honest, not to mention the exposure to radiation. Does she have a family history? Or is she over 40? Mammos range from $50 to over $100, depending on where you go.

      This month, HPB is giving 50% off mammos, so it’s $50. Check out this link: http://www.hpb.gov.sg/programmes/article.aspx?id=3324

      You have to go and hold her hand before the mammo okay? It’s terrible being alone when you have to go for a mammogram…

      Reply

    • PC
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 10:21:20

      Hi Theresa,

      Thanks for the suggestions. I’m mostly past the dark, dark period of whether I will survive and what? another shadow on the CT Scan – do I need to come in for more tests?

      At this stage, I’m trying not to let my life be defined by cancer, and aiming to ease back into a normal life, so I’m not sure that a cancer support group is appropriate. I also want to clarify that I don’t have breast cancer, just cancer of the connective tissues – at the part of the body above the left breast.

      Reply

  3. Elvin
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 07:28:29

    Oh gosh i forgot about the pain part! Now I remembering reading about it in one of your entries. Reading various sources online on recommendations for women go for their mammo gave me this ignorant impression that it would be a casual test. Sigh i really thought it would be a nice thing to do but i wouldn’t want to put my friend through pain for a gift! 😦

    Not sure about her family history, she’s closing in about mid 30s. So maybe a necklace then :p But if she does go for it on her own, i will go hold her hand! Thanks for the info Threez! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

