Zoe Tay Plays Me! (Not)

I’m kidding, of course! What human could be more luminous than Zoe Tay?

But the beautiful Ms Tay does play a breast cancer patient in her new movie Love Cuts. She is a friendly seamstress whose positive nature touches lives all around her, from acquaintances to foreign workers.

I admire Zoe Tay greatly. When I began my writing career at 8 Days, she was already the Queen of Caldecott Hill. I remember our best-selling issue of that year was the one with Zoe on the cover in black and white. The photos were shot by Derrick Tay, and in the (then-rather-scandalous) spread within, in one particular shot, she wore a really sexy corset and fishnet stockings.

In the accompanying interview, she talked about getting whatever she wants — she was, then, the very picture of a Material Girl.

But today’s Zoe Tay is soft and gentle, a mother of 2.5, an actor who has in the last 15 years worked hard to push herself beyond the cozy comfort of being the biggest fish in the Singapore acting pond.

For her to take on this unglamorous role of being a cancer victim, I think it must have taken guts. (I adore Fann Wong but I doubt she would ever play a character that has cancer.)

I’m also happy to say the script was co-written by my churchmate Danny Yeo, who also goes beyond his own comfort zone in this effort.

Critics have mauled it for being schmaltzy, but most cancer movies sort of are (Beaches, The Bucket List, Love Story… and not just movies but reality shows too. Who can forget Jade Goody, the British “Big Brother” reality show star who died of cervical cancer in 2009).

If you ask me, I’d rather that movies about cancer were suitably sentimental, than over-truthful. The fact is cancer is an ugly, painful disease. It robs families of mothers and fathers, even children. It causes unimaginable stress not just to victims but more so to caregivers.

Love Cuts reveals the best sides of living with cancer — especially the longsuffering husband. He reminds me of my late father, who tirelessly cared for my mother and who stopped at nothing to make her feel his love.

And when you have someone who truly loves you, I guess, even a cancer victim can feel beautiful.

Catch Love Cuts now before it ends! Click here to buy tix.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elysia
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 02:15:11

    hey threez!

    i’m a reader of your blog and would like very much to talk to u. do u have an e-mail addie i can e-mail u at? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Elvin
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 04:05:11

    I have to say that my favourite movie about cancer (yikes, sounds really strange to have “a favourite movie about cancer”… let’s change that to “one of my all-time favourite movies”) is the very brilliant Wit starring Emma Thompson. Just the right amount of reality and sentimentality for me. Never fails to make me feel like hugging everyone in the world by the time i reach the ending!

    Reply

    • threezframe
      Sep 14, 2010 @ 05:26:59

      Hi Elvin – haha you must be my friend, because I also have a favourite cancer movie. Mine is Shadowlands, starring Anthony Hopkins and Debra Winger. It’s the story of author CS Lewis who falls in love and marries an American single mom, Joy, who is dying of cancer. There is a scene, after she dies, where he and Joy’s son are sitting in her room, and the grief is so palpable between them. The little boy is so filled with sorrow he can’t help but hug Lewis, and cry, “I miss her.” And Anthony Hopkins wraps a careful arm around the little boy and says, voice shaking, “I miss her too.”

      Alamak I just made myself cry remembering.

      Reply

  3. Elvin
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 05:31:52

    I just put on my “game on face”, woman! I’ll go catch Shadowlands (been wanting to anyway also because I am a Narnia fan!) and you, Wit (if you haven’t already done so). There are too many favourite scenes in Wit for me! But by the time i get to the Runaway Bunny, it’s overtime for my tear ducts! lol

    Hugs

    Reply

  4. Trackback: A Clean Breast Of It: 2010 in review « A Clean Breast Of It

Leave a Reply

